Child Abuse

Guidance

I have gotten many complaints about a woman that has bipolar disorder and have had trouble with her mself.

How do I make a complaint about something that people have been saying NY state. I have no dought these people are honest, but Child protection states I have no profe. I can't get the real proof they alege they need untill after something happens to the kids. I have never done this before, and I don't understand why they don't seem to see the emergancy.

Here are some resources:

Mandatory Reporters: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/publications/pub1159text.asp

This also give some good info on what is abuse and what is maltreatment, what they are looking for, etc, etc.

NYS has not directly addressed if Clergy are mandatory reporters and does not currently have a provision of "anyone" as a mandatory report nor has it address privileged communication in its mandatory reporting laws. (ref: http://www.childwelfare.gov/systemwide/laws_policies/statutes/clergymandated.cfm)

Below are some laws on abuse reporting for NYS.

Professionals Required to Report

Citation: Soc. Serv. Law § 413

The following persons and officials are required to report:

Physicians, physician assistants, surgeons, medical examiners, coroners, dentists, dental hygienists, osteopaths, optometrists, chiropractors, podiatrists, residents, interns, psychologists, registered nurses, social workers, or emergency medical technicians

Licensed creative arts therapists, marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors, or psychoanalysts

Hospital personnel or Christian Science practitioners

School officials, including but not limited to, teachers, guidance counselors, school psychologists, school social workers, school nurses, or administrators

Social services workers, daycare center workers, providers of family or group family daycare, or employees or volunteers in a residential care facility or any other child care or foster care worker